Differences
This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.
| Both sides previous revisionPrevious revisionNext revision | Previous revision | ||
| rules:dice_pool [2025/07/02 21:57] â Ron Helwig | rules:dice_pool [2025/07/08 00:10] (current) â Ron Helwig | ||
|---|---|---|---|
| Line 1: | Line 1: | ||
| - | << rules:aspect_table | + | << rules:core_stats |
| - | # đ˛ D4 Dice Pool | + | # đ˛ Taking Actions with the D4 Dice Pool |
| - | This system | + | Most actions in this system |
| - | Each **Aspect** provides a dice pool equal to its value. Your capacity to act is limited during your turn by increasing your **đ Action Load**, which typically resets to 0 at the start of your turn. | + | Each **Aspect** provides a virtual |
| - | The d4s represent **effort, attention, and precision**. The more dice you spend, the harder it is to keep acting. | + | The d4s you roll represent **effort, attention, and precision**. The more dice you spend, |
| --- | --- | ||
| Line 13: | Line 13: | ||
| At the **start of your turn**: | At the **start of your turn**: | ||
| - | - Set your **Action Load** to **0** | + | - Reset your **Action Load** to **0 - your Action Point Bonus** |
| When you take an action: | When you take an action: | ||
| - | 1. Identify the relevant | + | 1. **Identify the relevant Aspect** |
| - | 2. Subtract your **Action Load** from that Aspectâs value  | + | This depends on what you're trying to doâsee |
| - | 3. If the result is **greater than 0**, you can take the action | + | |
| - | 4. Roll the dice and perform the action | + | |
| - | 5. Add the actionâs **Cost** | + | |
| - | You can keep acting as long as your adjusted Aspect value (**Aspect â Action Load**) remains | + | 2. **Check if the action is allowed** |
| + | | ||
| + | - If the result is **greater than 0**, you may take the action. | ||
| + | - If the result is **0 or less**, you cannot take that action until your Load is reduced. | ||
| + | Â | ||
| + | 3. **Determine your Net Advantage** | ||
| + | Add up all sources of **Advantage** and **Disadvantage** to find your **Net Advantage** for the roll. | ||
| + | Â | ||
| + | 4. **Calculate how many d4s to roll** | ||
| + | - Start with: `Aspect â max(0, Action Load)` | ||
| + | - Add or subtract 1d4 for each point of **Net Advantage** | ||
| + | - You always roll **at least 1d4** Â | ||
| + | - Add any extra dice (such as a weapon' | ||
| + | Â | ||
| + | 5. **Roll and resolve the action** | ||
| + | Apply the outcome based on your total roll and the actionâs effect. | ||
| + | Â | ||
| + | 6. **Increase your Action Load** | ||
| + | Add the action' | ||
| + | Â | ||
| + | You can keep acting as long as your **Aspect â Action Load** remains | ||
| + | Â | ||
| + | <WRAP tip>Â | ||
| + | Instead of resetting Action Load at the beginning of a creature' | ||
| + | Â | ||
| + | We will definitely be playtesting this idea. | ||
| + | </ | ||
| --- | --- | ||
| - | ## đ˛ Rolling the Dice | + | ## âď¸ Calculating Net Advantage |
| - | For each action: | + | ### What is Advantage and Disadvantage? |
| - | - Roll **d4s** equal to: Â | + | **Advantage** is when something boosts your action. It might be an ability you have from a Feature, because of something in the environment, |
| - | **Aspect Value â Action Load** | + | |
| - | - Also roll the actionâs **damage die** (if any) | + | **Disadvantage** is when something is hindering your action. |
| + | Â | ||
| + | For each instance of Advantage that you have for a particular action, you can add a d4 to your Action Roll. | ||
| + | Â | ||
| + | For each instance of Disadvantage that you have for a particular action, you subtract a d4 from your Action Roll. | ||
| + | Â | ||
| + | Advantage and Disadvantage stack, unlike in D&D 5e and similar systems. This means you can get multiple d4s added to your rolls, but it also means that you could get multiple d4s removed from your rolls. | ||
| + | Â | ||
| + | <WRAP important> | ||
| + | đ **Note:** You can only gain **Advantage** or **Disadvantage** from a single source **once per action**. | ||
| + | Multiple effects from the **same ability**, feature, or condition do **not** stack. | ||
| + | <WRAP notice> | ||
| + | đ **Example: | ||
| + | </ | ||
| + | </ | ||
| + | Â | ||
| + | Before making an Aspect Check or other Aspect-based roll, but after determining if the action | ||
| + | Â | ||
| + | <WRAP notice> | ||
| + | Example: A character is trying to disable a trap so the game master has them make a Finesse Aspect Check. Their Finesse value is 4 and their Action Load is 0 - the d4 pool is 4. This trap is in a darkly lit dungeon which gives Disadvantage - the d4 pool is now 3. One of the other characters helps by holding a torch, giving Advantage - the d4 pool is now back to 4. Another character assists by peering over their shoulder and giving advice, granting another advantage - the pool is now 5. The player will roll 5d4. | ||
| + | </ | ||
| + | Â | ||
| + | ---Â | ||
| + | Â | ||
| + | ## đ˛ Resolving the Dice Roll | ||
| đ§Ž Add all dice together and declare the total. | đ§Ž Add all dice together and declare the total. | ||
| Line 50: | Line 96: | ||
| Your Finesse is 6 and your Action Load is 2. You want to use a dagger (1d4 damage). | Your Finesse is 6 and your Action Load is 2. You want to use a dagger (1d4 damage). | ||
| You roll 6 â 2 = **4d4** + **1d4** (damage). | You roll 6 â 2 = **4d4** + **1d4** (damage). | ||
| - | Your total is 14. The GM subtracts the targetâs Evasion (e.g. 11), leaving | + | Your total is 14. The GM subtracts the targetâs Evasion (e.g. 11). The **remainder is damage dealt**. |
| </ | </ | ||
| Line 78: | Line 124: | ||
| - Use the **current Action Load** | - Use the **current Action Load** | ||
| - Increase the **Action Load** afterward | - Increase the **Action Load** afterward | ||
| + | |||
| + | Since your Action Load wonât reset until your next turn, acting during another creatureâs turn means youâll have fewer dice available later. | ||
| <WRAP notice> | <WRAP notice> | ||
| đ **Example: | đ **Example: | ||
| - | A goblin attacks your ally. You still have 3 Control and an Action Load of 1. | + | A goblin attacks your ally. You have an Action Load of 1. |
| You use a Team Action (cost 1) to impose Disadvantage. | You use a Team Action (cost 1) to impose Disadvantage. | ||
| The goblin rolls its attack with disadvantage and you add 1 to your Action Load. | The goblin rolls its attack with disadvantage and you add 1 to your Action Load. | ||
| Line 97: | Line 145: | ||
| - If the **GM calls for a roll**, you always roll at least **1d4**, even with a negative Aspect. | - If the **GM calls for a roll**, you always roll at least **1d4**, even with a negative Aspect. | ||
| - GM-initiated rolls may or may not consider Action Load â this is up to the GM. | - GM-initiated rolls may or may not consider Action Load â this is up to the GM. | ||
| - | - Some abilities have a **Cost of 0** or use only **1d4**, enabling small actions even late in the round. | + | - Some abilities have a **Cost of 0 or 1**, enabling small actions even late in the round. |
| - You may take actions using **different Aspects** in the same turn. | - You may take actions using **different Aspects** in the same turn. | ||
